For Your Consideration: AKA The Inevitable January Awards Eligibility Post

I have totally snurched the body of this post from writing pal Karen Dudley (with her permission, of course).

January 1st marked the start of the Aurora Awards nominations and the Hugo Award nominations. The Nebula Award nominations are already underway (for members of SFWA) as are the World Fantasy Award nominations. If you are one of those nominating or thinking about nominating works for science fiction/fantasy-related awards, I ask you to consider the following for Best Novel:

Thunder Road, Ravenstone, September 2012

Some reviews:

“Ginther handles both the mythic and human aspects of Thunder Road with considerable skill… Thunder Road is a fast-paced, thoughtful novel, and news that it’s the first in a trilogy is welcome indeed.” – Quill and Quire

“…delivers fast-paced action and witty dialogue as our heroic trio battle unnatural and vulgar forces.” – Winnipeg Free Press:

“Unique and brilliantly crafted, Thunder Road leaves the reader salivating for the next book in this trilogy…” – The Winnipeg Review:

“In Thunder Road, Chadwick Ginther opens a doorway to the mythical in the modern world, letting his reader almost believe that at the edges of our reality, in the most mundane of places, there lurks the remnants and lingering presence of the Otherworld….” – Speculating Canada

You can read the prologue of Thunder Road on the excerpts page of my website.

I also published two short stories in 2012:

“First They Came for the Pigs,” FungiInnsmouth Free Press, Silvia Moreno-Garcia and Orrin Grey, editors. December 2012

“Back in Black,” Tesseracts 16: Parnassus UnboundEDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy, Mark Leslie, editor. September 2012

So, who can nominate a work?

Well, for the Aurora Awards, you must be a member of CSFFA in order nominate. To be a member of CSFFA there is now a $10 membership fee. Memberships are good for the calendar year no matter when they are purchased. Nominations must be submitted by April 15, 2013. Look here for more information on the Auroras:  And do read Michael Matheson’s (of the Friends of the Merrill Library Short Story Contest) blog post, he has some interesting words on the “no award” option of the Aurora ballot.

For the World Fantasy Award, all registered members of the 2011 World Fantasy Convention in California, the 2012 World Fantasy Convention in Toronto and the 2013 event in Brighton are eligible to vote before the deadline (which is May 31, 2013).  For more information, go to

For the Hugo Award, any person who was or is a member of the 2012, 2013, or 2014 Worldcons as of January 31, 2013, is eligible to nominate for the 2013 Hugo Awards. If you are not a member of any of those conventions, you can join LoneStarCon 3 or Loncon 3, the 2014 Worldcon, before January 31, 2013 to become eligible. You can find more information at

For the Nebula Award, you must be a member of the SFWA, and you must nominate the work before February 15, 2013. Check out for more information

Coming soon, a post full of works I’ve read and loved over the last year, so this site isn’t all about me (for once).

Write on!

1 thought on “For Your Consideration: AKA The Inevitable January Awards Eligibility Post

  1. Pingback: Some Prix Aurora Award Recommendations | Chadwick Ginther

Comments are closed.